Catching Up

I’m a really bad blog mommy. And I can’t even grow basil. I’m destined to be a fail parent in the future. Womp womp.

Anyways, WordPress is telling me it has been 19 days since my last post. Yikes!

What have I been up to?

Well, my husband and I took the trip back to the U.S. to see friends and family and to attend our friends Mark and Kristen’s wedding.

It involved lots of our favorite foods like pizza from the Lynwood,

IMG_2552_Fotor

Bagels from Back Bay Bagel (actually, I think I had like 4 bagels during the week. It had been almost 6 months since my last one, ok?), and visiting The Plate in Milton. We also waited 2 hours for a table during Cinco de Mayo at a Mexican restaurant. Never again. But we were with our friends so it was all good. And had way too sweet margaritas. My parents hosted a Mother’s Day get together complete with steak tips and pasta salad and beautiful homemade cakes made by my very talented sister-in-law, Sarah.

13118957_10154999763885620_4475796764943920900_n_Fotor

13124625_10154999763605620_5347377920065178907_n_Fotor

The top was a strawberry and the bottom was a turtle.

My sister gave me Chrissy Teigen’s cookbook Cravings and like a huge nerd, read it cover to cover on the plane.

IMG_3145_Fotor

Then, once we got back to Germany, our friends Mark and Kristen arrived for their visit! We gave them a taste of typical German food (schnitzels all around) and took them to a famous festival called the Erlanger Bergkirchweih or the Berg. We arrived at around 4pm and didn’t leave until almost 11pm. We made lots of German friends and had 3 liters of beer.

IMG_7768

Like that’s almost 9 beers.

And we enjoyed the food of the festival.

IMG_4753

And the German “blow music” as one of our fellow German friends called it.

IMG_1887

IMG_2133

We are now back to an empty apartment :(.

I did buy a spiralizer finally, jumping on the bandwagon. It was really easy to use so I am looking forward to using it for more recipes. Tonight I made a Mango and Cucumber Noodle Salad from Camille Styles with cucumber noodles, mango, jalapeno, and basil with a sesame dressing and added shrimp and avocado to it. It was really refreshing and even my cucumber-hating husband really liked it. The noodles tasted ALMOST like rice noodles.

Ok so I promise there won’t be so much time in between posts. The next couple of weeks will be low-key but then we head off to ITALY on June 3rd!! I have been waiting 8 years to return back there. Can NOT wait!

One thought on “Catching Up

Leave a Reply

