Scenes from the Weekend

This weekend was definitely more low-key than last weekend’s Greek adventure. But my parents come in THREE DAYS!!! I can’t wait!! We have been planning their German itinerary.

On Friday night, we had some sushi. Nothing to write home about, it was solid and quick. My husband did buy me these beautiful flowers. Do you have any idea what kind they could be?

IMG_0967

It is starting to get nice here and restaurants and cafes are setting up their outdoor seating. And each place is packed! After grocery shopping on Saturday, we walked around the Nuremberg Altstadt for a cafe with an open outdoor table. We managed to snag one at Cafe Mohr. We ordered two cappuccinos and people-watched for quite a while.

IMG_9299 We are starting to get used to/are enjoying the slower-paced life in Europe. Back home, we would never spend over an hour drinking cappuccinos outside. Well, we would probably be rushed to leave in an American restaurant but not here in Germany. We could have sat there as long as we wanted. It is VERY nice.

Dinner was…purple pasta??

IMG_6086

I tried this yummy, one-pot pasta recipe. You essentially throw noodles, garlic, onions, basil, red wine, vegetable stock, olive oil, and water into a pot and bring to a boil. Then, you turn the heat down and let simmer for 7-8 more minutes. The recipe called for 16 oz of pasta and I only had about 12 oz so I think I had a bit too much liquid left. I spilled a little bit out and then added parmesan cheese and fresh basil to the pot. This made a nice and creamy sauce. Oh, and I added mushrooms to the recipe. Just because. I would love to try this with a different wine (I used a Spanish wine). Really easy but sophisticated recipe!

Then we went out with some friends to a craft beer bar called Mr. Kennedy on the south side of the Altstadt, about a 20 minute walk from our apartment. They had different kinds of beers from all over the world so it was tough to pick. It was a teeny bar but we were the first ones there (it opened at 7, it was 8) so we grabbed the corner “booth.” My first beer was called Green Monkey and was light and fruity. My second beer was from a local brewery called New Beer Generation (NBG) and called Relax Pale Ale.

IMG_9337_Fotor.jpg

My husband had a Black Yeti stout and then a Sierra Nevada!

This morning we had brunch at one of our favorite restaurants in Nuremberg called Stockholm.

IMG_6096.JPG

I mean talk about a smorgasbord. Tim had something similar except with french toast and scrambled eggs.  Don’t worry, we went for a run later because it was WARM out (in the 60’s!).

For dinner, I made my no-recipe chili (I need to track what I put in…) with Brown Butter Cornbread from Serious Eats.

 

Chili is great because it makes amazing lunch leftovers. And it always tastes even better the next day after sitting in the fridge overnight.

I hope everyone had a great weekend! I know back in Boston in snowed. Thumbs down.

 

Leave a Reply

